Skip to content

My blood

September 10, 2010

I was happily traveling to my venue, yesterday, for my CWG duty (serving my nation?! BLEH) and smsing my pal, Bhar. I have no idea when our conversation (written) completely digressed from our usual crap to a serious topic.

He casually remarked about me smelling of daisies and thus I wouldn’t get a guy. To which I replied that I wasn’t trying to attract any guy.

You do want to spread your family or are you the sorts who are solely responsible for killing off their bloodline”

This simple statement of his kinda hit me hard. That simple weaving of words to make a sentence was intertwined with the thoughts of society. It from no angle looked like he was talking about a family but more like a CONQUEST (to which he agreed) or EMPIRE.  “Spread” and “bloodline”.

I told him that I would prefer adopting. I think he found the idea funny and asked me if I was afraid of child birth! NO I’m not, PUNK.

So the pharse ‘khoon ka rishta hai’ has no meaning to you?”

NO they don’t. A relationship (if meaningful) doesn’t have to categorized into blood and others. What guarantee does a khoon ka rishta have that it will be concrete and others not? If it were so then no parent would ever abandon their child, no child would ever disown his/her parents, no family member would ever kill another member in the name of honor or tradition. If one’s own blood really had SO much sanctity then would Kunti have ever abandoned Karna? Would any father ever rape his own daughter? (YES it happens open the newspapers) Would any brother push his sister onto her husbands pyre? NO!!

Thus if you ask me whether blood relationship have extra special place in my heart I will bluntly reply NO. I am not saying that a parent- child relationship doesn’t mean anything to me. All that I’m saying is that they are no different to me, just like any other rishta. Some are good, others nothing but a sham.

For eg. Bhagban (*ing Big B, Hema Malini, Salman Khan etc.) Isn’t this what the movie talks/sings about.It is the respect and true feeling that really matter and not which category. An adoptive child or best friend can be a million times more loyal to you than ‘your own blood’.

The reason why you love your mom or dad or siblings is not cause of any red fluid but because of the fact that we respond to their kind gestures. We care for them cause they care for us, we serve them cause they serve us. The rest is just a social construct.

I will be honest my best friends V,A,T are a zillion times closer to me than half of my family.Why do we have to lie about it? “Arre meri jathani sabse pyaari”. “Mere dewar the best!!”. Tsk tsk.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 3:45 PM

    hahaha i would still argue but i see there is no point.

  2. September 12, 2010 12:29 PM

    well we agree to disagree

  3. September 14, 2010 12:04 PM

    amen to that!

  4. September 17, 2010 5:00 PM

    I couldn’t agree more. 🙂
    Even though the picture misled me earlier.. I simply love it..
    really well written, AN… 😉
    marhaba…

    • September 19, 2010 1:07 PM

      thus lesson learnt don’t judge my articles my the photographs…
      they shall always be gory !!

Leave a Reply

