Skip to content

A daughter, sister, wife and mother

October 1, 2010

I sat there looking at them taking him away, just sat there. I wanted to walk beside him or carry him, but the heavy hand that society had placed on me from the moment I was born stopped me. Chained me, prevented me.

Why? Why does the society have to tie me up? What have I done wrong? Did I steal something, lie, or hurt someone? All that I did was that I became a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother. Is this really a sin?

Why do you always have to tell me that I can’t do this cause I am a daughter, a wife, a mother? I can work, I can think and I can understand. But then if you allow me to work it is in the kitchen, think about children, and understand emotions.

Why, please tell me why it is that I’m bound and gagged is? Don’t tell me cause I’m a daughter, mother, wife. Explain to me why.

I sat back home when my grandfather was taken for his cremation. I sat in a corner while his sons and grandsons poured ghee into the diya. I sat in my room,weeping, while the men went around performing other rites. It isn’t fun, it is sad. When i asked why they said, “well cause when the men will come back who would feed them?”I glanced sideways and mom my mom’s eyes said, “I know you want to go, but..” , my massi said,”I too wanted to go, but..”

My friend once told me that we women are disgusting. “GAWD!!! YOU BLEED!! Ugh!” So? At least we don’t dirty our clothes every time a women in heels passes by. And fine we are so disgusting then why don’t you pray to lord that women stop bleeding. Find yourself a wife who doesn’t bleed, who isn’t messy. Thats what you want , don’t you?

If we women are so lowly then finish us, make this earth clean and pure. But remember the cows you worship are mothers, the money you kill for is a goddess, the education you posses is the gift of a woman, moreover the life you posses is the dedication of a woman. And if we are there no more then the little man you desire for shall be no more.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sumegha permalink
    October 1, 2010 7:35 PM

    your Nana passed away?
    when? 😦

    hugs, yaar.
    take care.

    and a piece thought-provoking!

    • October 6, 2010 12:29 PM

      He passed away peacefully..
      i was there sitting next to him and he had his hand on my head ❤

  2. October 2, 2010 7:20 AM

    I completely empathize. This is so true…unfortunately

    • October 6, 2010 12:27 PM

      I wish men understood.
      I refuse to believe that they are heartless!! But yet can they not see or comprehend our despair?

      • October 21, 2010 2:21 PM

        lets not generalise it honey.that friend of urs is an immature boy-child, thats all.

        • October 24, 2010 7:37 AM

          Well umm.. i’m not trying to generalize anyting V. I’m only commenting about what we(women) face and how we are made to feel. But no every man is not a culprit.

  3. October 3, 2010 12:13 PM

    This is just lovely AN..
    and at one point of time every woman goes through this dilemma..
    I’m glad you could touch upon this.. great food for thought..
    Hugs.. 🙂

  4. October 8, 2010 12:25 PM

    You have echoed the feelings brilliantly !!
    It is the society, the age old system and the unchangable mindset which is causing all this, irrespective of the education, the development and all the advancements mankind has made, still following age old customs with absolutely no valid reason at all.

    • October 8, 2010 6:16 PM

      thank you!
      i guess it was the only way to control my anger and voice my feelings..
      i just hope people realize and help change whatever is going around

Leave a Reply

