Skip to content

Weekend Trauma

December 13, 2010

“AN!! Come here.” my mom would shout out every saturday sunday and i would run towards her. OH! Saturdays and Sundays, how i dreaded them. MY mom after being extra kind to me and my brother by oiling our hair would come down to mean business.

Why? Cause saturday sunday was Get-Your-Notebooks-Checked-By-Mom Day. Maths and hindi were the two subjects i dreaded the most. Never could i understand these two subjects!

I always forgot the difference between 2 divided by 4 and 4 divided by 2. And negative numbers( i guess that’s what they’re called) killed me. “Akku whats -1 – 1?” my bro would ask, still does. And i would use my fingers as an abacus and try to find the answer. Rarely did i ever get it right.

And hindi was an alien language to me. And my problem was aggravated thanks to my mom. If it said hindi it meant hindi, shudh hindi. One couldn’t borrow words from urdu at all! So instead of Dost i had to write Mitra and many more. And as if that wasn’t enough i had to edit and re-phrase my sentences cause they weren’t “Happy sentences”.Well the sentences became happy but i didn’t.

Oh those Saturdays and Sundays. Mom would check each and ever word, every notebook, every subject. “AN! Correct the spellings. Write them 5 times.” And when mom said something there was no escape. Wish there was.

“AN! Dot your i’s and cross your t’s!” Correct this, do this and that, that is how my saturday and Sundays went. Usually the to-do list is completed or atleast partially completed, for me the to-do list never got shorter on the contrary i got a More-to-do list.

But no matter how dreadful those days were i just can’t thank my mother enough for all the hard work she put in with us, for us. So even if the weekend was a trauma my life now is blissful.

PS: I’m not a CEO of any company, i’m still a student.And i still face such days when she starts questioning me about my syllabus. Thankfully she can’t check my notebooks anymore!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 8:56 AM

    hahaha! nice post! this reminds me of my weekends too when I had to go through exactly the same thing. Thank god mum doesn’t know I still cant figure out what -1-1 is 😀
    And Hindi grammar was a nightmare….that chandrabindu was an evil little thing.
    Childhood was terrifying, but amazing!

    • December 17, 2010 5:48 AM

      Oh my god!!
      HINDI.. i still haven’t given my class 10 hindi exam.. i took sanskrit..
      i stll don’t know whether its bhikhari or bikhari!! 😀

Leave a Reply

