Skip to content

Food Orgasm

January 24, 2011

After years did my mom cook chicken korma. The last time that she cooked it was the day before we left for Kashmir, I was in class 11 then! Me, my brother and his friend- JK, all sat out in the garden, enjoying the winter sun while gorging on chicken. JK had just come back from the US, the newly turned non-vegetarian had specially asked mom to cook it.

The aroma of the bhuna masala fills the entire house, and slowly into my room. Hints of tej patta, a dash of coriander, a bang of cardamom and saffron.

I try hard to study and not be distracted by the delightful smells entering my nostrils. But I’m rendered helpless. I just can’t escape from the wraps of freshly cooked, tender and juicy chicken and all the wonderful herbs. The aroma instead of leaving e alone, enter my head. All that I’m now waiting for is my mom to call me for dinner.

With every pressure cooker whistle, my tummy’s growling and groaning intensifies. Finally, i hear the cooker open. As the delicious aroma comes rushing into my room, I can easily make out that my mom’s thrown in cloves, black pepper and cinnamon too.

I rush to the kitchen, more like teleport, pick up my plate and treat myself with a generous (exceedingly) portion  and a roti oozing with ghee.

Over the years eating food had become more of an exercise than a moment of experimenting with food, the dining table was a quiet place. Ever since my brother went to the hostel, my mom lost all interest in cooking food (read delicious food) for she lamented with the idea that her other child was suffering horrible food. For me on the other hand the dining table became a boring place where i would easily feel the absence of my brother. No more fights, no jokes or hot gossip about school.

I know that after watching too much of Master Chef (Australia) one focuses on presentation but today I just didn’t care. It didn’t bother me cause the dish compensated in so many ways. One, it was exceedingly tasty. Two, it was Chicken. But most importantly it was more that just a dish or an experience. It was a trip down memory lane, remembering how I spent my childhood. No not eating away to glory but enjoying each and every moment with my brother. Relishing the food that mom cooked, or flushing it down the toilet!

The joy of having piping hot food in the winters is amazing. And today was way beyond just beautiful, returning from a brilliant play and having orgasmic food. Thank you God. AMEN.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 4:41 PM

    Some of the moments I miss my mom and her food the most is when I read posts like these. I had my food an hour ago, and now I am craving for some food again! 😦

    • January 24, 2011 4:48 PM

      Awwww.. I sympathize with you. Its only in the absence of our mothers and home that we truly understand their importance.
      And well i’m glad that my post could make you feel hungry, shows that I could always join an advertisement company after i graduate. 😀

      • January 24, 2011 4:54 PM

        Thanks a lot for those book suggestions. will definitely read them!

  2. January 25, 2011 5:15 PM

    I will kill you for making me read this.

    • AN permalink*
      January 26, 2011 8:30 AM

      Awwwww don’t get any good food in the hostel 😛
      I can understand my bro too suffers crappy food

  3. February 2, 2011 10:57 PM

    Your blog made me hungry! Interesting read.

    • February 3, 2011 1:10 PM

      I’m glad that I’ve been able to make soo many people hungry! 😀

  4. February 19, 2011 4:29 PM

    your good

Leave a Reply

