Skip to content

It happened to me..could have been you

February 8, 2011

Last friday I was walking to my mom’s office, which is barely 2 minutes away from where we stay. It’s right bang in the centre of Delhi and in one the safest places in Delhi, if there is any safe place in Delhi.

Around 2 o’clock I decided to walk on the main road (the pedestrian path, of course) as me and my friends were meeting up for a show that was going to happen at mom’s office. Suddenly I realized that this black esteem was trailing me slowly. To just re-check if it the car was actually following me or if I was hallucinating I turned around. A semi-bald man in his 50s or probably late-40s waved at me with great enthusiasm and warmth, as if we knew each other since like ever.

He signaled to me to come over, I peeped into his car and he cheerfully asked me if remembered him. “Ummmm NO!” was my answer, to which he replied “Arre I’m surrender, don’t you remember we meet there !” The moment he uttered those words I knew that he was some sort of a pervert or a man who had something really wrong on his mind. Why? Well cause where ever I go there are no uncles, if I do I only go with my mom and I definitely didn’t meet HIM.

In still a very cheerful and confident tone he asked me if he could drop me anywhere. “HELL NO” was my answer and he started getting very persuasive “Arre I need to talk to you about something”, I just ran away from there and stood next to a Caravan form restaurant. I quickly called up my friend to inform her about my whereabouts and what had happened. So in case I went missing you should know that I was kidnapped by some crazy man.

The shocking part of this story is that the road that I was walking on is super busy! Moreover being central Delhi it is home to all ministers and top bureaucrats and police officers. If in an area like this freaks roam I wonder what happens in other places.

I just got freaked out, I know I should have screamed at the top of my voice so that at least people would have gathered but I didn’t. But because I didn’t doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t. Though well I hope that this doesn’t happen to anyone. Now, on top of my wish list is a Pepper Spray.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 3:26 PM

    omg. that is not good. be safe, dear. and as you say, keep a pepper spray with you all the time now

  2. February 9, 2011 12:47 AM

    The guy sounds like a creep…at least you didn’t continue the conversation…you should go get that Pepper spray…

  3. February 9, 2011 3:40 PM

    that is scary. pepper spray and a swiss knife also i guess..

Leave a Reply

