Skip to content

EPIC

April 4, 2011

I wonder when was the last time you saw Sonia Gandhi in front of your car at 1 o’clock in the night, dancing and super excited?!! I’d say never and the chances of the same happening in the future are zilch. But guess what by India clinching the world cup title the impossible was made possible. I mean I, a staunch cricket hater, was cheering and hooting like crazy. My mom, who follows a caveman’s timetable, wakes up at sunrise and sleeps at sunset, was wide wake!!

The moment Dhoni hit that sixer, the sole Indian sixer of the game, India jumped with crazy degree of joy. A degree so high that it must have caused a serious number of cardiac arrests, for sure! The game was neck-to-neck and wonderful for sure but there was something much better and beautiful that will make it a true Kodak moment for me out on the streets. People were all out on the streets, in HUGE numbers, celebrating. I’m sure Lord Ram must be greatly upset that night, for not even Diwali is ever celebrated with so much joy.

Within seconds of that sixer the night sky was lit up with crackers and everyone sat in their cars and head out for India Gate. It was like a school of salmon with in-built magnets being attracted to the place they belong to! It was an epic scene. For me it was different, since India Gate is like a stone throw distance from my place, me and my mom decided to drive down and see what’s happening.

Somehow the police had anticipated this move thus had barricaded the place and made it a no entry zone. But that didn’t stop Indian one bit. Every connecting road was jam-packed with hundreds of Indians celebrating this victory. I doubt that even after the Kargil war did we come out like this, which is pretty sad.

Thermocol and  cardboard trophies in abundance being carried around, the Indian flag being waved by everyone. I got randomly hugged by an old uncle without his dentures! Any other day i would have taken out my pepper spray but that day I guess I wouldn’t have minded being hugged by the ‘dude’ playing dabang in his car, i guess.

I’m glad Sachin could finally win the cup. I’ve always loved the bubbly guy no matter how much I hate cricket. I just hope that after having won the cup the balance of power between cricket and other sports doesn’t  worsen any further.

Le Meridian roundabout, 1:30 am

It was at the Meridian roundabout that I saw something truly wonderful. A car full of sardars and another full of muslims were congratulating each other. I hope such feelings for each other’s communities continue.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 2:44 AM

    28 years was worth the wait! What a win it was and we team played like champions. After a year of scams we finally had something to rejoice about.

  2. April 5, 2011 2:50 AM

    28 years was worth the wait! What a win it was and the team played like champions. After a year of scams we finally had something to rejoice about.

    Even the tectonic plates joined in the celebrations and did a little jiggy wiggy yesterday :p

    • April 6, 2011 2:39 PM

      I agree. For once there was no scam and depressing news on prime time news

  3. April 6, 2011 11:04 AM

    It was truly a memorable day for India…and though I normally don’t follow cricket, I watched the whole match….and what a match it was…..!

Leave a Reply

