Skip to content

DIY

January 3, 2012

For the past few months I had been pestering my mom to buy me magazine holders. I had seen these gorgeous translucent ones when I was in Singapore. After looking at them I realized that I could create SO much space in my God-so-overstuffed-bookshelf if I placed my notes and books in them instead of  stacking them one on top of another.

My mom had allowed me to buy them from the shop in Singapore but do you space constraints I decided not to buy them. And now ever since I came back my mom said NO. ‘I’m not wasting my money on any of this trash’.

Today I was on the net and decided to see if I could make them myself. And found out that they are damn easy to make.

ImageWhat you’ll need:

  • Empty cereal box
  • Scissors
  • Cello-tape
  • Pencil or Marker
  • Coloured Paper
  • Glue

How to make it:

  1. Cut the flaps of the cereal box. Halfway across top of box, cut at a 45 degree angle down to front of your magazine holder, cut straight across then back up other side at the same angle. (You could also try cutting out curves instead of bring straight lines)
  2. Tape the bottom end flaps together with cello-tape
  3. Cover the box with beautiful coloured paper. Glue them well.
  4. TADA!!! Your magazine/ file holder is ready.

In case you’re the really dedicated types you could make it even more professional and personalized.

  1.  Instead of straightaway gluing on the paper you could use sandpaper to scrape of the glossy cover.
  2. You could them glue on plain paper and paint it yourself.
  3. You could also add ribbons and tassels.

Image

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

